just a drop of simple sunshine

Green Bean Casserole, pt 1

Leave a comment

I have ALWAYS loved green beans. Growing up, my parents kept a huge garden, & so I’d spend hours snipping & chopping up bushels of beans that my mom would turn into two of my favorite dishes: green beans with bacon & a dash of vinegar, & green bean casserole.

Green bean casserole, in addition to being a potluck staple in churches around the country, is one of my favorite comfort foods & a definite must at Thanksgiving. Much to my dismay, I’ve discovered that nearly all cream of mushroom soup contains wheat in some variety or other, which I definitely cannot eat. The one variety that doesn’t, Progresso’s Creamy Mushroom, has soy, which is gross & I don’t like to touch. So now the task has fallen to me to make the soup, which shouldn’t be too hard, but. Creamy soups usually require the making of a roux, which is usually done with flour!

But wait, there’s more! The perfectly crunchy onions that are placed on top? Are dredged in flour. You can see where this is headed, can’t you?

But I’ve decided that nevertheless, I will prosper. For in my cupboard is a bag of potato starch. Not the best thing, but I shall put it to the test & emerge victorious! Thankfully, others have already made this, most notably these two ladies:

» Gluten Free Mommy, who likes her casserole with a kick, &
» The Gluten Free Cooking School, who shows us the light with her original mushroom soup recipe.

Obviously, I’ll be using full-fat heavy cream & real olive oil & other various real ingredients where light & low-fat variations are offered. But thanks to these ladies for making this task seem not as scary! I’ll have pictures & results when I attempt this next week. If you try these out before I get back to you, let me know how it turned out!

Author: Sarah

Teen librarian by day, passionate about simplicity, natural living & Real Food by night!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.