just a drop of simple sunshine

Rivvin’s Amazing Microwave Bread

4 Comments

mmm turkey time...

Let’s face it – there’s not much easier & cheaper than throwing a sandwich together. I’ve been experimenting with the coconut flax bread recipe that’s out there, & I do have a coconut-flax-chia seed bread that I really like, but those take time to bake & I’m having some difficulties making it last longer than a few days before it goes bad. The oopsie bread recipe is amazing, but that’s also a long process (quite messy, too), so I don’t make it all that often.

I’ve looked at available gluten-free breads, but their nutrition is iffy & wow, they’re expensive! Spending seven dollars on a tiny loaf of bread that may or may not be tasty completely defeats the purpose of eating a sandwich. But since I went gluten-free, I’ve been determined to find an acceptable substitute. So when I happened upon the MDA forum thread The Sandwich is Back, and He’s Pretty Pissed, I’ll admit, I was skeptical (albeit amused), having tried so many promising recipes that have ultimately failed. But Rivvin’s recipe for five minute microwave bread also made me curious, & as I was delighted to discover that I still had a bag of almond meal back in the way back of the cupboard, I gave it a shot.

You know what? It’s really quite good. So fast, so tasty, & it definitely has the texture of wheat bread. I do feel that it’s far too much bread for one serving – flax & almond meals are very filling, what with all that fiber, so you don’t need a very big or thick slice. So! Here’s my take for making two sandwiches:

Five Minute Microwave Bread

quick & easy

What you need:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter or coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup combination of almond meal & flax meal – I’ve been using two tablespoons of each. I do NOT recommend using the full 1/4 cup of flax only, & don’t even bother trying out coconut. I tried with one tablespoon coconut, two tablespoons of almond meal, & one tablespoon of flax, & it just didn’t really work.

 

How to do it:

  1. Mix everything together, then pour into a square glass dish. Spread evenly.
  2. Microwave for 90-100 seconds.
  3. Cut into four squares (I use a silicon spatula) & flip out of pan. Allow to cool for a few minutes, then doctor it as you like!

 

If you want to save your second sandwich for the next day, wrap it loosely in a paper towel, parchment, or wax paper. Tuck it inside a bag, & place somewhere cool (your pantry, perhaps?). Putting it in the fridge was a definite failure – the bread just fell apart & stuck to the paper towel, which made me quite sad that lunch hour.

April’s issue of Whole Living featured an article entitled Make a Better Sandwich, & for the first time in a long time, I’m looking forward to testing out some of these ideas. Yay for the sandwich being back in my life!

Author: Sarah

Teen librarian by day, passionate about simplicity, natural living & Real Food by night!

4 thoughts on “Rivvin’s Amazing Microwave Bread

  1. Thank you soooo much for this recipe! I can now have a sandwich without guilt and the fact that I only have a microwave to work with makes this recipe my lifesaver for this weekend. Thank you :DDDD.

  2. Pingback: 2 Minuten Paleo-Toastbrot # 2 mit Vollkorn-Look (getreidefrei, glutenfrei) | Gusto & Aroma

  3. This may be the only time ever that I have read a recipe that I wanted to try and actually had all of the ingredients on hand to try it out! I followed the directions using the coconut oil rather than the butter option and with the exception of not microwaving it. (I try to avoid the microwave when possible). I put it into a round glass baking dish (un-greased) and put it in the toaster oven to bake at 350 degrees for approximately 10 minutes. When I removed it from the oven, I loosened the edges with a knife and ran a spatula underneath to free the bottom. I made a sprout, tomato sandwich out of it, and it was tasty goodness. I ate all of the bread in that sitting rather than retaining half as suggested, but experienced something I notice every time I go to my favorite Vegetarian restaurant…a feeling of being satiated. Full, but in a good and satisfied way. The texture reminded me of what would amount to a thin layer of cornbread but it held its form pretty nicely and was a little less dense than cornbread . A little crumbly but Excellent result. I may grease the dish with a little coconut oil next time to ease removal from the dish and try substituting something else for the egg as I try to go vegan when possible. Thank you for sharing your successful experience with all of us out here in the Ether, I will be forwarding it on to everyone I know who is trying to go gluten free.

  4. Pingback: Gluten-Free Microwave Bread | crossings of metro lines.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.