just a drop of simple sunshine

Passion Tea Lemonade

5 Comments

Starbucks has this fantastic beverage: Shaken Iced Passion Tea Lemonade. It’s one of the most refreshing beverages out there; perfect for a light lunch. Its bright pink color, due to the passion flowers, is a great addition to any party table. After much tinkering, I’ve worked out the recipe!!

What you’ll need:
Gallon pitcher
Tazo Passion tea; 3 bags
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon lemon juice

How to do it:
Brew your tea very strong in a half gallon of water in your usual way, whether that’s by sitting it in the sun for half an hour, making water in your kettle, or my favorite, just letting your hot water run for about 30 seconds & filling your pitcher (we have very hot water).

Let it brew longer than you usually do, so it will be very strong, as mentioned above. If you’re getting ready for a gathering, do this step first. Come back to the tea after you’re done with everything else.

Remove tea bags, & pour tea into gallon pitcher if you haven’t already done so.

Add sugar + lemon juice; stir until dissolved.

Add 1/2 gallon cold water to pitcher or until full; serve over ice.

Voila! Starbucks flavor without the price. It’ll last for about two days (if you & your friends don’t drink it all in one sitting), but be sure to store it in the fridge. Enjoy!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

5 thoughts on “Passion Tea Lemonade

  1. My roommate and I made lemonade last time we had friends over and that impressed them. I think I’ll make this over the weekend and impress them even more. Thanks :)

    • @ April: oh, they’ll love it!! Lemonade is so easy to make & yet, everyone is always to surprised when people make it. :)

  2. I’m not a big tea fan, but the thing is, I want to be. So I’m always trying to find one I like; it’s just hard because I just can’t get past the bitterness. This sounds promising though and maybe when I get the money (and find a Starbucks) I’ll try it out.

    • @ Nikki: I would try starting with herbals. Tazo has two wonderful herbal teas: the passion here, & also their sweet orange. It’s so sweet, you would never know you’re drinking tea! Celestial Seasonings has some good ones too, as does Republic of Tea. :)

  3. Pingback: Summer recipes «

Leave a Reply

