just a drop of simple sunshine

The Simplicity Project >> Don’t label yourself!

Leave a comment

Recently, I’ve started making lots of little changes in my life, in the pursuit of leading a simpler, more vibrant life. Someday, maybe I’ll post the whole list – I didn’t realize how many I’d made in the past year or so until I sat down to see how many of these “tips” I could write about, & I was honestly shocked. But I thought I’d share with you what I’ve done every week or so, & we’ll see how long it goes!

The first tip is incredibly simple: take the labels off your stuff. Bottles, boxes, etc – everything we buy these days is branded, down the very last curve on your shampoo bottle. Have you ever noticed that when your in the shower, you can’t stop glancing at all those words written all over everything, telling you how great you’ll feel if you use this product? Do you really need the instructions on that bottle of shaving cream? Didn’t think so. Rip it off!

Now, if you can’t tell what it is without the label because it truly does just come in a plain glass jar, maybe keep that label. I have a toner whose label is a very cool vintage apothecary style design, but otherwise, if I can rip it it off, I have, or I’ve put the product into a plain jar or bottle. You’ll be surprised to discover how obvious it is that you use Dove or Pantene or Garnier or what have you, even without the label. I’ve found my shower experience to be a much more calming.

& for the record, that’s not my shower up there. Someone REALLY could use a lesson in simple living!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

Leave a Reply

