just a drop of simple sunshine

The Simplicity Project >> Switch to bar soap.

5 Comments

There was a time before several aisles of every store was dedicated to “body wash,” a time before Bath & Body Works & The Body Shop tempted us with their sweet-smelling, high-lather concoctions. Humans have used soap in that oh-so-familiar bar form for hundreds (if not thousands!) of years – can you really argue with so much history?

I wanted to switch to a bar soap because I was tired of so many bottles in my shower, & so much plastic in my life. Sure, my body wash du jour smelled good, but I do rather love the scent of a pink Dove bar. Bar soap is much less expensive than the liquid variety, & I think we can all agree that thrift is a skill that needs to be a greater part of the human experience. Initially, I had hoped to use it on my face as well – but a week of breakouts made that impossible.

I mentioned last week that I was reading You: Being Beautiful, & imagine my surprise when, months after making the switch myself, they recommended using bar soap instead of the wash for yet another reason: liquid soap contains more chemicals, whereas bar soap can contain just the simplest ingredients in which to clean. How fabulous!

I’m happy to report that six or so months after making this change, I haven’t looked back! I’ve saved money, avoided plastic, & exposed myself to fewer chemicals – all things that fit my life philosophy. I encourage you to try it for yourself!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

5 thoughts on “The Simplicity Project >> Switch to bar soap.

  1. Forever ago, Sarah, you gave me as part of a Christmas gift a bar of Lavender and Oatmeal soap. It stayed in its wrapper for a long time until I got a bad dose of poison ivy last month — my regular body wash was only irritating it more, and knowing that oatmeal is good for such things, I pulled out your bar of soap…

    …and now I use it all the time, for everything, even though the poison ivy is long gone. I’m trying to use up what’s left of my liquid body wash so that I don’t waste it, but my goodness, that bar soap feels so much better on the skin!

  2. I just switched to bar shampoo from Lush. It’s organic and actually works a lot better than most organic bottled shampoos I’ve tried. Plus it smells like cinnamon. :)

    http://www.lushusa.com/shop/products/hair/solid-shampoos

    You can also find bar / solid shampoo on etsy. Now I just need to get a good bottle-less conditioner…

  3. @ lauren: well, i guess you’re welcome! i’m amazed at how much happier my skin feels now that i use the simple bar soap, as well. :)

  4. @ april: bar shampoo? i shall surely have to try it out!! :)

  5. I have so many friends that have skin issues (eczema, sensitivities, allergies) and they all use body washes. I love the intoxicating smell of body washes, too, but I love bar soap, especially black soap. I decided to start making soap in anticipation of the rash (pun intended) of bdays and holidays at the end of the year, and I planned to include oatmeal and shea butter in them… I hope my friends will benefit! :)

Leave a Reply

