just a drop of simple sunshine

The Simplicity Project >> Create an afternoon ritual

Leave a comment

I love tea. Once upon a time, I drank several cups each day. Several months ago, however, I realized that I’d somehow fallen out of the practice. Oh, I’d chug more than my share of iced tea most days, but as far as sitting down to truly savor a nice cup of hot tea – it had disappeared from my life. & that, I felt, was a loss, & something to be remedied. So I decided to create a bit of a “tea ritual” for myself, wherein every afternoon while I’m at work, I make a cup of tea & take a few quiet moments for myself. I put on some quiet music, & often I read or write a little.

You needn’t panic if tea isn’t your thing – you can make a ritual using anything. Maybe you’d like to do a crossword daily, or play a few rounds of a silly flash game. Perhaps you’d like to go a more traditional route & meditate. Read your favorite trashy magazine, splurge on some fancy coffee creamer, & relax at your desk. Do a few Sun Salutations or other favorite asanas. Take a walk around the block or your building. The list could go on & on; just make it something that’s distinctly you.

& whatever you do, do it mindfully. Take a few moments of your day, & don’t think about anything else but you. Forget the economy, your job, that bill that needs paid. Just think for a moment about the good things in your life; about those things that make you smile. Take a few quieting, cleansing breaths. Relax. After your few moments, you’ll be much more focused & ready to tackle whatever the rest of your afternoon holds for you.

Make this a priority, & soon it’ll be something for you to look forward to each day.

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

Leave a Reply

