just a drop of simple sunshine

TOE-MAY-TOES.

Leave a comment

Tomatoes, ‘maters, reddish orbs of perfect delight. Whatever you call them, we can all agree on one thing: when they’re in season, every dish should revolve around them. Sadly, my very own Sam can’t eat them! He loves them, but like many other people, his body doesn’t like anything from the nightshade family – so that means no eggplant, no peppers of any kind, & definitely no tomatoes. Honestly, it’s bad enough to have discovered wheat & milk sensitivities; if I couldn’t eat my beloved tomatoes or peppers, I think I’d give up & eat nothing but watermelon the rest of my days.

Thankfully, I can eat them, & I enjoy every moment of mid to late summer here in Ohio, when tomatoes are at their prime & everyone has far too many. I had my first local tomatoes of the year on Friday, & it was like heaven on a plate. My favorite way to eat them is still with basil & mozzarella cheese, lactose intolerance be damned, but they’re also wonderful just sprinkled with a bit of salt & drizzled with balsamic vinegrette. YUM.

My tomato recipes:
» Chips & Salsa
» Easy Tomato Sauce
» Tomato & Basil Salad

Ones to try:
» Mark’s Heirloom Tomato Gazpacho with Hardboiled Eggs & Avocado
» Pioneer Woman’s Roasted Ricotta Roma Tomatoes
» Raw Tomato Sauce from Elana’s Pantry
» Southern Living’s Watermelon-Tomato Sorbet
» Roy Harland’s Tomato Soup with a Twist
» Cooking Light’s Cheese & Olive Stuffed Tomatoes
» Whole Living’s Best Tomato Recipes

Here’s something quick for you to try that I whipped up this weekend…

Avocado, Tomato, & Bacon Salad
» 1 large tomato, sliced
» 1/2 avocado, chunked
» 3 slices bacon, cooked until perfect crispy
» bit of cilantro, to taste
» 1 slice red onion, chopped
» bit of olive oil
» dash of salt & pepper

Mix altogether, enjoy!

Now you have no reasons to pass on the staff lounge piles of tomatoes your co-workers are bringing in. Get cooking!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

Leave a Reply

