just a drop of simple sunshine

Oopsie crust tips

2 Comments

If you recognize the above photograph, there’s a good chance you’ve tried your hand at the now infamous oopsie crust. If don’t, those are egg whites, whipped until perfectly stiff – a key component to making a rather interesting gluten-free pizza crust. Made of mostly eggs & cream cheese, I’ll confess that even I didn’t think it would work. But it does! I absolutely tip my hat off to the kitchen genius who first thought of it, & offer my undying gratitude. A life without pizza isn’t much of a life at all!

Rather than post a recipe, I’ll offer some suggestions to make your pizza experiences just a bit easier:

» Diana’s recipe is, by far, the best one out there. I love the addition of parmesan cheese – so clever!

» If you’ve never separated egg whites, be prepared for a mess. I don’t know how others do it, but you can use both sides of the egg to do this, allowing the whites to drop into a bowl below. It doesn’t have to be perfect – just try to get the majority of the whites into a separate bowl. Whites in the yolk mixture won’t mess with anything, but be sure to avoid getting any yolk in the whites bowl. Make sense?

» You can add herbs right to the crust. Lately, I’ve been adding dried basil, sage, rosemary, & oregano to the cream cheese/yolk mixture, & it’s really good!

» If you can, whip the whites in either a standing mixer or with an immersion blender. When I first tried this, I thought I could do this with a hand whisk (especially since I’d broken my hand mixer making what would be my last batch of gingerbread cookies). Ha! Five minutes in & my wrist was killing me, & my whites were still a sad slippery yellow mess. Invest in something for baking, even if you think this is the only thing you’ll be making.

» Double the recipe while you’re at it, & throw one crust in the freezer. Thaw, then top & bake like usual!

» The same recipe makes quite tasty rolls. I put some of the mixture in a muffin pan, & baked as usual. They puffed up over top of the pan, but as they cooled, flattened into rather nice slider buns, as shown in this photograph.

Later in the week, I’m going to post about my experience transforming this recipe into a gluten-free crust for a personal family favorite: peach kuchen. Stay tuned!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

2 thoughts on “Oopsie crust tips

  1. Pingback: Party food! « peace – love – nature

  2. Pingback: Gluten-free coconut & rice flour pizza! « just a drop of simple sunshine

Leave a Reply

