just a drop of simple sunshine

Make your own nut butters!

7 Comments

Homemade almond butter!

Did you know that it’s incredibly easy to make your favorite {insert nut here} butter?

Here’s all you need to do:
01) Purchase your favorite nut, raw, roasted, salted, whatever you like. I like to make almond, coconut macadamia + almond, & cashew. I’d like to try sunflower butter – might make a nice change of pace once in a while. If you’d like, buy them raw & roast them yourself. Personally, I’m just fine with plain raw almonds.

02) Throw a bunch in a food processor; probably two or more cups.

03) Hit the start button, & PLUG YOUR EARS. The first few seconds are VERY, VERY LOUD. I did not know this when I tried it, & I’ve not seen this warning anywhere else. Did I mention that it’s REALLY LOUD?

04) Let it turn into butter! You’ll need to stop & scrape the sides down a few times, but that’s it. Once it reaches a perfectly buttery consistency, pour into glass jar, & put ’em in the fridge. I like to use my coconut oil jars for this purpose.

Some nut butter tips & tricks:
» Try throwing some spices in with your butter in the last moments of processing. What would a cajun almond butter taste like? Might be an interesting treat!

» I find that Target has the best prices on all sorts of nuts. I have a really hard time finding macadamia nuts anywhere. :(

» I got the idea to make coconut butter from HEAB. Although I don’t love it quite to the extent she does, I have found that it’s tasty to mix into fruit smoothies & popsicles (think strawberry & pineapple), & to add to the butter when I’m sauteing shrimp. Tastes a bit like coconut shrimp from Red Lobster, but much better for you!

» A good snack or breakfast is nut butter spread between a banana sliced lengthwise. It’s great for those early mornings when you aren’t too hungry, but know you’ll need to eat something.

» For a quick & easy breakfast, add some good dark chocolate to your nuts before you blend. Take a tablespoon of the butter, add to 4 ounces of coconut milk, & add 1/2 of a frozen banana. Blend together & enjoy!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

7 thoughts on “Make your own nut butters!

  1. I want that quick and easy breakfast right now – YUM! Oh, and coconut butter popsicles – yeah, I’d like one of those as well. :)

    Thanks for the shout-out, and I hope you have a good weekend.

    P.S. I always wear my sound proofing headphones whenever I make nut butters as my husband is afraid I’m going to go deaf. ;)

  2. Aw, hey! Your blog is a constant inspiration to me – I’m on a mission to re-create all my favorite foods with food I can eat! :)

  3. I am so fortunate to have found your site! I decided to go Primal at the beginning of September. It’s been pretty easy so far, but I know all too soon I’m going to run out of ideas or get bored. You provide some really amazing recipes and tips! I love the idea of making your own almond butter. I had no idea it would be so easy.

    I can’t wait to look around your blog more. Thank you so much for putting all of this out there!! It is incredibly helpful!

  4. Jill,
    Glad to hear you decided to take the plunge! I was okay for awhile, & then suddenly, I couldn’t eat another salad. A lot of my recipes come from trying to escape that sort of boredom. Glad to see I’m helping – I’m hoping to get some more recipes up soon. Grok on! :)

  5. Pingback: Brownies & muffins « peace – love – nature

  6. Why have I never sauteed shrimp in coconut butter?!? That is freaking brilliant. Thank you! :)

    And yes, those first few seconds of processing are so loud. I wear soundproof headphones. Seriously.

  7. Pingback: Chocolate-Almond Butter Smoothie « peace – love – nature

Leave a Reply

