just a drop of simple sunshine

Packaged food I use…

2 Comments

Sunshine pizza burger

Since becoming primal, there are fewer & fewer things that I buy with more than one ingredient. Avoiding processed food is really the cornerstone of any healthy diet, but somehow this is often viewed as atypically weird by most. Frankly, I find that knowing every ingredient in my meal contributes to a wonderful peace of mind.

But, occasionally, I do eat some packaged stuff, although it’s far from the Lean Cuisine variety.

Garden sunshine burgers: These taste nothing like burgers, but, I find them to be a nice change of flavor & texture, & so I enjoy them from time to time, usually as a quick base to a pizza, as shown above. The flavor is truly unique, & I’m happy to have found them.

The other reason I enjoy them guilt-free? Here are the ingredients: organic ground raw sunflower seeds, organic brown rice, organic carrots, organic herbs, sea salt. You couldn’t really ask for a simpler packaged food than that.

Al Fresco chicken sausage: To be honest, there’s a variety of chicken sausages such as this that I purchase – Aidell’s, Al Fresco, the Trader Joe’s brand (when I’m afforded the opportunity to shop at one). Yeah, I know they use chicken because it’s leaner, but a lot of pork sausage bothers my tummy. Chicken apple sausage is, for a me, a quick & yummy breakfast, & all varieties go well with veggies. So long as the ingredient list stays short & pronounceable, I’m all for this.

Mary’s Gone Crackers: These are a tasty, once-in-a-while treat when I want something crunchy to dip into chicken salad, but don’t feel like digging out the food processor to make true primal crackers. Definitely not something I eat on a regular basis, but I do enjoy them from time to time.

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

2 thoughts on “Packaged food I use…

  1. I love chicken sausages! I’ve been mostly meatless (except fish) for almost a month now, but I’ve always loved chicken sausage way more than any other kind. They have this spicy California sausage at one of our local natural grocery stores that I just love.

    I’m going to have to try out the Sunshine burgers. I haven’t heard of them before and if I eat veggie burgers at home I usually make my own (which means I don’t eat them very often). I’m not a fan of fake meat.

    Yay for real food! I think all the real food people need to stick together whether veg*n, primal, local or whatever else. I see a lot of fighting between factions and it just isn’t cool since everyone agrees on the most important part of an earth- and us-friendly diet: real food!

  2. Pingback: I made crackers! « peace – love – nature

Leave a Reply

