just a drop of simple sunshine

The day I welcomed grilled cheese sandwiches back into my life…

1 Comment

Never fear; that isn’t wheat bread. It’s flax bread! It’s… interesting. Honestly, it tastes more like rye bread than anything else, & the texture isn’t the greatest thing ever, but if I figure out a way to toast it up more (I no longer own a toaster, though), I will definitely be enjoying a corned beef reuben next St. Patty’s. Perhaps not something to enjoy all the time, but if the money is tight (as ours often is) or you’re craving a sandwich, this is the way to go. After all, there’s nothing like a turkey & swiss sandwich on the day after Thanksgiving!

I followed the recipe pretty closely, but here are the modifications I made…

Ingredients:
» 2 cups flax seed meal
» 1 tablespoon baking powder
» 1 teaspoon salt
» 1 teaspoon honey
» 5 beaten eggs
» 1/2 cup water
» 1/3 cup butter or coconut oil

*I also added about 2 tablespoons of rosemary; feel free to try other herbs as well! Just throw them in with the rest of your dry ingredients.

Directions:
01) Set oven to 350°.
02) Place parchment paper on a 10×15 cookie sheet, then oil (I used olive oil) the parchment. I wouldn’t skip this step.
03) Mix dry ingredients together, then add wet ingredients. Mix all ingredients thoroughly.
04) Let mixture sit for about 5-10 minutes, letting everything soak together.
05) Spread mixture evenly on pan, without spreading tightly into corners.
06) Bake for about 20-25 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when it springs back after touching (be careful though, it is hot!)
07) Cut into desired pieces, & use like usual!

When it’s cooled, it’ll look like this:

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

One thought on “The day I welcomed grilled cheese sandwiches back into my life…

  1. Drool. I haven’t had a grilled cheese sammie in so long! How did you like the flax see bread? I’ve got to try this recipie!

Leave a Reply

