just a drop of simple sunshine

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

1 Comment

These seem to be becoming quite popular! When I first when primal last winter, I was struck by inspiration & deciding to try roasting these. I have no idea why I was suddenly craving brussels sprouts, of all things, but hey. I discovered that they’re a fabulous match to rotisserie chicken! The oil & salt melts together to carmelize the delicate leaves &, I’ve got to tell you, it’s delicious & so much better than the steamed variety you probably grew up with.

One reason I love them is because they’re so darn simple to make. Here’s all I do:
1.) Drizzle cookie sheet with olive oil
2.) Halve brussels sprouts; place on cookie sheet
3.) Drizzle with a bit more oil & sprinkle some sea salt on top.
4.) Bake at 400° for about 15 minutes; flip over all sprouts & bake for another 10-15 minutes.

You could use a different oil if you’d like, but I find the olive oil gives the sprouts the best flavor. This is a great thing to make while you’re cooking other things to have on hand for later, since the longer baking time requires you to stick around the kitchen. Make these in the morning while you’re working on your Sunday morning coconut pancakes, & you’ll be halfway done with Sunday dinner!

I’m sharing this recipe with you now because I’ll be making this, in addition to other yummy things, for Thanksgiving! Later in the week I’ll share my menu with you, & offer some ideas for your own holiday.

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

One thought on “Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving prep! « peace – love – nature

Leave a Reply

