just a drop of simple sunshine

A Primal Thanksgiving

1 Comment

Last November, after reading what ended up being a dreadful book (The Next Thing On My List), I made a list of 30 things to do before I turn 30. This was before I decided to give primal/paleo a try, although I’d known about it, but I wrote that I wanted to cook & host Thanksgiving. Although I sort of did this in 2008, I decided I wanted to go all-out & do it again. Since this will be my first primal Thanksgiving, I thought this would be awesome time to do this.

Now, the menu you’ll see below is incomplete, for this is what I’m cooking. I explicibly told my family that if they wanted rolls or dressing, they were welcome to bring it, but that no bread would be found inside my turkey. My family is also contributing the raw veggies & dip, as well as various pickles that are a staple of a Pillivant Holiday Celebration™, but otherwise, this is what we’re having.

» Roasted turkey stuffed with apples & onions
» Gravy from homemade turkey stock
» Mashed potatoes
» Green bean casserole
» Squash
» Roasted brussels sprouts
» Peanut butter pie (my husband’s specialty)
» Pumpkin cheesecake

This Thanksgiving is definitely an exercise in the 80/20 principle. Although most of the food is perfectly primal, made from scratch using the best quality ingredients, I’ll be honest & tell you that I had to use rice flour to make the roux for the cream of mushroom soup. There’s a lot of dairy going on in the green bean casserole, cheesecake, & pie, & obviously the pb pie uses peanut butter. Thanksgiving itself, at least the way my family enjoys it, is pretty primal all on its own, so I intend to enjoy the day & all the preparations leading up to it.

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

One thought on “A Primal Thanksgiving

  1. One very important question…

    When’s dinner? ;->

Leave a Reply

