just a drop of simple sunshine

Green bean casserole, part 2

1 Comment

Yesterday, I made the time-consuming bits of green bean casserole – the cream of mushroom soup, & the fried onions. Both were really quite easy to make, I was pleased to discover, & they both taste incredible. I actually ended up with far more soup than I’ll need, so I’ll be enjoying that later on today!

Here are some pictures of the process…


I scrubbed the mushrooms good under cold water, & then threw them in the food processor. I didn’t puree them, but they’re nearly there. Then I sauteed the pulpy goodness in butter – no pictures of all of that, because it was really not pretty at all.


Making the roux – once the butter melted, I started throwing the rice flour in. I used about a cup & a half of it.


Mmm the good stuff – heavy cream. I used an entire pint! You have to keep stirring throughout…


Once the cream is all in, you can add first the chicken stock & then the mushrooms. Everything happens so fast once you get going that I didn’t have time to snap a picture! I cooked the entire thing at a low temperature, I’d say about 275°, in my trusty electric skillet, & had no troubles with anything scorching. Altogether I’d say it was about 20-30 minutes worth of work – I’m really glad I didn’t wait until Thursday to make it!


The finishing touch: fried onions. Cut your onions really thin so they can get perfectly crunchy. I soaked these in milk, then dredged then in a combination of rice flour & potato starch. I wish I could tell you how much of each I used, but I honestly don’t know. Then I fried them in coconut oil at about 250-275° for a long while – I’d say about 45 minutes to an hour. I cooked them slow so they’d get adequately crunchy without burning. Currently, they’re being kept in the fridge in an airtight container.

I’ll give the final report on the final product next week, although I can’t imagine it’ll fall through. Opening up a few cans of no-salt-added green beans shouldn’t cause any issues! They’ll get baked for about 45 minutes in a 350° over. I can’t wait to try them!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

One thought on “Green bean casserole, part 2

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving prep! « peace – love – nature

Leave a Reply

