just a drop of simple sunshine

I made crackers!

3 Comments

Crackers! Such a seemingly simple thing, but have you ever made them? Until last week, I hadn’t. I was trying to think of things I could make for an upcoming party using ingredients I had on hand, & I decided to make a dip similar to the one I used to stuff the tomatoes over the summer. But I didn’t have anything to dip with, & so I thought, hey! This would be a good time to try out making my own crackers!

Now, these crackers aren’t your typical Ritz. I started with this recipe for sunflower sesame crackers, & adjusted them to what I had on hand. To be honest, I wanted something more akin to Mary’s Gone Crackers, which I find tasty all on their own, so I dug into my cupboard for some ingredients I keep meaning to try, but never seem to find a use for.

I started with flax meal, & added the following seeds until I thought it looked good:
» sesame
» sunflower
» quinoa
» chia

I also threw in some herbs (basil, tarragon, & oregano), black pepper, & salt. Once the mix seemed perfect, I added about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, & added water by the tablespoon until it was gooey enough to spread. I spread it between two pieces of parchment with a rolling pin, peeled off the top layer, then scored the thin batter into square-ish pieces. I baked it right on the rack at 225° for about half an hour. I checked it often to make sure it didn’t burn, although a few of the outer pieces got a bit overdone nonetheless.

Everyone at the party liked them! I’ll probably tinker more with the mix, but I’m very pleased with how they turned out. They pretty simple to make, & I could definitely see myself making a batch on Sunday for snacking throughout the week.

Part of Fight Back Friday 12/17

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

3 thoughts on “I made crackers!

  1. Pingback: Party food! « peace – love – nature

  2. Please make these for Christmas–they look awesome!
    love, mom

Leave a Reply

