just a drop of simple sunshine

The very best (gluten-free) chocolate chip cookie recipe, period.

4 Comments

So, a little over a year ago, I posted my recipe for chocolate chip cookies. After several years of tinkering with the recipe in the Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook, I had perfected it, & thought it important to share it with the world. After all, everything is better with a perfect chocolate chip cookie.

A few months later, I went gluten-free, & haven’t had cookies since. Sad, that, but a necessity when trying to reach optimal health. But… it’s Christmas! As I’ve talked about before, cookies are among my favorite parts of the entire holiday season, & I just couldn’t bear to let this Christmas pass without my usual chocolate chip & gingerbread. I’ve looked at so many recipes, wondering how they compared to mine, knowing I’d be disappointed if they weren’t tasty. I’d intended to try the recipes in Elana Amsterdam‘s Almond Flour Cookbook, but I never got around to ordering true blanched almond flour, & whaddaya know, it’s already December 19th & I haven’t tried any of the recipes out there!!

Knowing that Christmas is a treat, & that I haven’t had cookies since last Christmas, I decided to just make my regular recipe with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free flour. This recipe isn’t primal in the slightest – even if we ignore the massive amount of sugar used, the legumes used to create the flour place this directly into gray area known as 20%. But, it’s something I can eat without being in pain, & so I’ll savor every bite.

I was so nervous about this decision; checking on tips for using the flour, even making a mad-dash to our local health store for xantham gum. Turns out there’s not really any way to avoid using it, & as my cookies turned out absolutely perfect, I’m happy I made the trip.

A couple of comments before we get to the recipe:
» Yes, you have to use the xantham gum. It’s not particularly cheap, but you’ll have it the rest of your life. Using only a 1/4 teaspoon for each cup of flour means I ought to run out in about ten years, even if I do make more than one batch per year.
» As someone mentioned on the Bob’s Red Mill site, the dough is kinda gross. But don’t let that stop you from making better cookies!
» These cookies taste scrumptious, but I’ll be honest: after a year of using far less sugar, I’m amazed at how sweet they are. I *might* try to tweak the recipe in the future, but I don’t want to sacrifice consistency for taste. What can I say? I love the perfectly chewy cookies I make. :)

Now, let’s get this gluten-free party started!!

Ingredients:
1 cup butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated (regular) sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free flour
3/4 teaspoon xantham gum (there’s no getting around it; you gotta have it)
2 cups dark chocolate chips (the darker, the better)
1 cup walnuts (you can leave these out if you really hate nuts)

Special Equipment:
parchment paper
a small ice cream scoop (I use one similar to this)
electric mixer

Twelve Easy Steps:
01 Preheat oven to 375°
02 Soften butter/margarine in microwave for about 45 seconds
03 Combine butter/margarine, sugars, baking soda & salt in a large bowl using mixer. Scrape the sides as you go, to ensure proper mixing.
04 Add eggs & vanilla; mix thoroughly
05 Add xantham gum & 1 1/2 cups of flour; mix thoroughly
06 Add remaining flour, stirring thoroughly by hand if needed.
07 Add chocolate chip & walnuts; stir thoroughly by hand
08 Drop cookies onto parchment covered cookie sheets (they really do work best) using the small ice cream scoop (mine is 1 1/2 inches across), keeping size & shape consistent. Don’t try to put too many on one sheet; usually 12 is perfect on a standard size cookie sheet.
09 Move oven racks to middle most slots; I recommend only baking two sheets at a time.
10 Bake for 10-12 minutes; they’ll look a little lighter than you’d expect, & will still be a bit doughy. Never fear – once cool, they’ll be perfectly chewy.
11 Remove from oven & remove from cookie sheet as soon as possible – the parchment cools very quickly, & you should be able to move it, cookies & all, after a minute at most.
12. Repeat steps 8-11 until all cookies are baked! You’ll have about four dozen cookies to share with your favorite people (& make sure that you do!)

Voila! Perfect cookies, every time. Be sure to share! Tomorrow I’ll post a cookie recipe that’s much more primal friendly, but just as tasty. Enjoy!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

4 thoughts on “The very best (gluten-free) chocolate chip cookie recipe, period.

  1. Pingback: No-Bake Primal Chocolate Coco-Nut Cookies « peace – love – nature

  2. Pingback: Coconut rice flour pizza! « peace – love – nature

  3. Pingback: Gluten free chocolate chip cookies! | Itchy Locomotive

  4. just amazing! I switch the sugar for some honey and lower the amount. I love it.

Leave a Reply

