just a drop of simple sunshine

The Song of the Universe

1 Comment

“Om is not just a sound or vibration. It is not just a symbol. It is the entire cosmos, whatever we can see, touch, hear and feel. Moreover, it is all that is within our perception and all that is beyond our perception. It is the core of our very existence. If you think of Om only as a sound, a technique or a symbol of the Divine, you will miss it altogether. Om is the mysterious cosmic energy that is the substratum of all the things and all the beings of the entire universe. It is an eternal song of the Divine. It is continuously resounding in silence on the background of everything that exists.”

Amit Ray, author of Om Chanting and Meditation.

Something about this passage just resonates within me, & I can’t stop thinking about it. 2010 has been a year of huge changes, mostly for the better. I married, moved, drastically changed my diet, improved my health, went through a major job transition, re-learned how to cook, began poking my spirituality, simplified (& naturalized) my life… looking back, it’s hard to believe so much happened just in this one year!

In 2011, I plan to continue down these paths, seeking ways to be even more vibrant in every single aspect of my life. One of the biggest bits of my life that needs work is my spirituality; I’ve peeked a lot of different things in the past year or so, but I feel like now is the time to really figure out what I think & feel. Finding this passage today is definitely no coincidence. I’ve learned so much about physical & mental health in 2010; 2011 is going to be all about the spiritual side. It’s definitely going to be an adventure!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

One thought on “The Song of the Universe

  1. Oh Thanks, for sharing your feelings.
    I liked your posting.
    “The Song of the Universe” is wonderful.
    Keep writing!! Wish you all a great 2011.

Leave a Reply

