just a drop of simple sunshine

Easy Morning Casserole

5 Comments

I am ALL ABOUT cooking ahead & grabbing something from the fridge to warm up for meals – in fact, it’s pretty much the only way I can stay true to the primal way of life. I do love to cook, but I prefer to do it when I’ve got lots of time & energy – usually when I wake up on the weekends. The Sunday morning thing has become a sort of ritual for me, & when I don’t get to do it, I get a little cranky. I hate spending a lot of time in the kitchen on a weekday evening, & that’s when I do not-so-great things like make rice pasta mac & cheese (supposed to be just once-in-a-great-while) or just grab something at a restaurant, which is bad for my health & my finances.

I’m a notoriously “running late” sort of person (Lauren knows never to expect me on time when we meet to go shopping), so breakfast always has to be quick. Even though I live right across the street from my place of employment, it’s always a mad dash to get to work on time. I definitely am the sort of person who loves her sleep, so I always hit snooze too many times. Perhaps someday I’ll learn to get up the first time the alarm goes off…

This dish is so easy, & so good, that I honestly can’t believe I didn’t think to do it sooner. When I was back home for Christmas, my mom made something similar to this, & it was quite good. I’ve made these, but wasn’t completely thrilled with them. Last week, when I forgot my camera, I was making those, but something happened with the muffin liners, & I was just so frustrated & annoyed, & then, oh wait! Why don’t I just throw them in a dish & cook it like a quiche!

& so this recipe was born. I ate this all last week, & made another on Sunday, so I’ll be lovin’ this until I get tired of it. A lot of people switching to primal have difficulty with breakfast. Personally, I’ve always been more than happy to just eat whatever in the morning (cold chicken is divine!), but if you can’t figure out what to eat, & don’t have time to whip up bacon & eggs every day, this recipe is for you.

What you need:
» 10 eggs
» 1/2 cup mayo*
» meat & veggies of your choice; about a cup or two.
» 2 tablespoons butter
» herbs & spices, as desired.

*Either homemade or Hellman’s. We can go ’round & ’round about the soybean oil, but let’s face it – the Hellman’s stuff is yummy, & mayo is a pain to make & store. I still use Hellman’s, but if you have the time & energy to make it, awesome!! Just don’t judge me too harshly, please? :)

How to do it:
01) Melt your butter. Toss it in your pan (bread pan, casserole, whatever you plan to bake it in), & let it slide all over. Tilt your pan so it hits all the corners & crevices.
02) Beat eggs together with a whisk or using a mixer, then mix in mayo.
03) Add herbs & spices. There’s black pepper, a bit of sea salt, & basil in mine.
04) Add meat & veggies. I used mushrooms, tomatoes, & bacon (already cooked) in this one.

05) Add to pan. You can see that mine was nearly full (oops!), & although it did rise pretty high, by the time it cooled off it was pretty much back to where it started.

06) Bake @ 350° until cooked through. Your time will vary depending on the pan you use – mine took about 45 minutes. Keep in mind that it’ll cook a little bit more after you take it out. When the edges are just starting to brown & the middle looks pretty solid, you’re good to go!

You can make this for a week of breakfasts (heat it up in the microwave for about 45 seconds), or serve it for brunch! It’s easy to change the portions for more people – I figure about a 1/4 cup of mayo for every 4-5 eggs, & 2-3 eggs per person.

Part of Fight Back Friday 01/21/2011

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

5 thoughts on “Easy Morning Casserole

  1. Thanks for the subtle promotion of the new blog. :D

    This looks a lot like a strata that I make, except the strata has bread in it. I honestly think it might be better WITHOUT the bread…

  2. That looks so good! I’m going to add that to my list of things to make on Saturday nights (so we can just pop it in the oven on Sunday morning before church).

    And I’m glad I’m not the only one on the mayo thing…. I’ve tried 4 or 5 different mayo recipes and hated all of them! I pick my battles, and mayo is not one I’m passionate enough about to keep making awful mayo recipes that ended up thrown out because nobody in the house will eat it. I buy Best Foods (the west coast Hellmans)….the Olive Oil one to make myself feel better. Ha!

    • Yeah, sometimes you’ve just got to give in. Everyone’s got their thing, & I doubt that a bit of mayo is going to kill me. :)

  3. Pingback: About the money thing… « peace – love – nature

Leave a Reply

