just a drop of simple sunshine

Gluten-free coconut & rice flour pizza!

7 Comments

Back where I grew up, there’s this fantastic pizza place: Lorenzo’s. Man oh man, it’s to DIE for – which is probably what would happen if I ate it now. Combined with one of their antipasta salads coated with their pink house Italian dressing… it was one of my favorite things about life.

What is it about pizza? We can let go of so many things – sandwiches, pasta, cereal – but there’s something about the ooey-gooey mix of sauce, cheese, & meat that just brings us back for more. For me, I think it truly is about the sauce-cheese-pepperoni, but for my husband… he wants the real deal. I’m perfectly happy with the oopsie crust, but something about the texture doesn’t sit well with him. Since I took away most of his favorite foods last year, I’ve been on a quest to find an acceptable crust.

I think I’ve done it!

Coconut & Rice Flour Pizza

Makes one large pizza

What you need:

  • 4 eggs OR 3 eggs + 1/4 teaspoon xantham gum
  • 1/2 cup milk (of any variety)
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/3 cup rice flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • herbs & spices, as desired.

 

How to do it:

  1. Beat eggs well, then add milk.
  2. Add dry ingredients. Allow to rest about five minutes, then mix together until smooth.
  3. Butter the heck out of a pizza pan or stone.
  4. Scoop mixture on top. It’ll be more like pancake batter than pizza dough, but just as tasty!
  5. Bake 15-20 minutes at 350° until cooked through & a bit brown around the edges.
  6. Add toppings (easy on the sauce; this is a dense crust) & throw back in until cheese is bubbly & a bit browned.

 

Enjoy! I served with a delicious Antipasto Salad of romaine, pepperoni, salami, black & green olives, mozzarella & bacon. Yum!! Almost like Lorenzo’s…

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

7 thoughts on “Gluten-free coconut & rice flour pizza!

  1. Um yummy! This looks SOO good :-) Glad I’ve found your site- looks like we have a lot in common. I’ll be trying this salad soon!

  2. Pingback: About the money thing… « peace – love – nature

  3. Pingback: A valuable lesson about flour. « peace – love – nature

  4. I am going to try and make this tomorrow! I am traveling in France with my gluten free, corn free son and have had the hardest time finding the ingredients that I need to cook for him, I did find coconut flour and rice flour and have been wondering what I can make for him with that combo! Pizza it is…. Actually I am going to try and make it right now rather then wait until tomorrow :)

  5. hey sarah, do you use white or brown rice flour in this recipe?

Leave a Reply

