just a drop of simple sunshine

Coconut flour banana bread

35 Comments

Is there anything so delicious as butter smeared on just-baked banana bread? Personally, I’m not so sure. With a few bananas well past their edible-as-is state, I decided to try my hand at a gluten-free banana bread. The husband didn’t like it so much – “I think I’ve lost my taste for bread. Except for muffins. I still like muffins. Hint hint.” were his words, but I declared loudly: More for me!

This totally hit the spot. As with many things I thought I’d given up for good, I didn’t even realize how much I missed it. Now, to be fair, it’s been so long (a year & a half, at least) since I’ve had the real stuff that I can’t honestly say it tastes just like the real thing. Frankly, I think I’m just so used to the consistency & taste of coconut flour that that tastes “normal” to me now. But try it out, & let me know what you think!

This recipe might look familiar, as it’s basically the same one for my gluten-free coconut flour muffins. Hooray for easy recipe transfers!

Banana bread

gluten-free, high fiber

What you need:

  • 2-3 very over-ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup butter, plus more for pan
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup nuts (optional; I used sliced almonds)

 

How to do it:

  1.  Melt butter. Stir in eggs, bananas, vanilla, & honey.
  2. Add flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, & baking powder.
  3. Gently mix in nuts
  4. Generously grease a bread pan, then pour in batter.
  5. Bake at 350° for about forty minutes, until a knife comes out clean. This won’t raise like the traditional stuff does, but I personally found it just as tasty.

 

This was breakfast for about a week. I personally love to eat it with some cheese & cold meat, maybe a few fresh strawberries. Delicious!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

35 thoughts on “Coconut flour banana bread

  1. Your recipe for banana bread has no bananas.
    THAT’S BANANAS!

  2. Pingback: Mesquite Flour/Coconut Flour Banana Bread |

  3. Pingback: Gluten-free cheesy biscuits « peace – love – nature

  4. I just tried your recipe — delicious! Thanks for posting this!

  5. I used 1/3 cup honey instead. Better moisture contant and covered the salty flavor of the leavenings

  6. hi! i just made this recipe and was pleasantly surprised, thanks for sharing! i was just wondering, how do you store this bread? it’s so moist, i don’t want it to mold or dry out. would you suggest the refrigerator?

    • I would definitely suggest wrapping it up & sticking it in the fridge. To be honest, though, I don’t think it’s ever lasted more than three days in my house before it’s gone! :)

  7. Just put mine in the oven! So excited! I used agave nectar instead of honey and gave a dash of cocoa powder. If the bread smells half as good as the coconut flour smells I will be a very very happy baker!

  8. Pingback: Recipe: Grain-Free, Gluten-Free Banana Bread | mom vs chaos

  9. Mine turned out extremely rubbery/spongy. Is this common with coconut flour baking?

    • Sponginess is definitely a common characteristic of coconut flour.

      • Thanks for the reply! Will be trying it again, because the flavor is excellent. My partner described the texture as “chewing on dolphin skin”.

        • Mine doesn’t particularly care for it either, which is fine with me – more for me!!

          • I agree that once you get used to eating coconut/almond flours you can easily get used to eating this way! I make my chocolate chip cookies now with either almond and or coconut flours and little or no sugar (I use stevia or unsweetened applesauce or unsweetened coconut….fruits can be used in place of moisture or sweetner) My hubby doesn’t really like it either! Oh well…more healthy stuff for me! He can have all the other crap! Lol….

  10. I added 1/2 cup of shredded zucchini to add some moisture, some chopped 100% cocoa unsweetened dark chocolate and chopped almonds instead of walnuts. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was not too dense, it was light and fluffy and amazing, thanks for the recipe, it was my first time baking with coconut flour!

  11. This recipe needs improvement. Not enough honey for starters, and I could taste the baking soda/powder. I’m going to try altering this recipe by adding more honey, using yogurt instead of butter, and cutting down on the baking soda/powder.

  12. Just put my bread in the oven, added coconut and used pecans so I will let you know how it taste. I love coconut and when I saw the coconut flour I had to buy it.

  13. I made a “double batch” for my first attempt at this recipe.although i didn’t have 12 eggs and it really didn’t need it. I used doubled the coconut flour, baking soda, and bananas (i buy organic bananas by the #40 case), used 1.5 times the amount of baking powder and eggs, guestimated the salt and vanilla (i extract my own so its stronger than store-bought), used aprox. 1/2 cup of “extra virgin” coconut oil+ 3 tbsp of butter, 1 tbsp of cinnamon + 1tbsp of nutmeg, and the called for 2 tbsp of honey.
    I separated the whites from 6 of the 9 eggs and whipped them to peak and folded them in after blending the wet ingredients and oil with the dry. I baked in a six-small loaf, silicone “pan” so no extra oil was needed for “greasing”. After baking in a convection oven @ 350 for 35 mins they came out perfect even though i used twice the coconut four and only 1.5 times the egg and didn’t add any xanthum powder as i was afraid i would need. Not dense and almost rubbery like my only other attempt at banana bread, about a year ago, which was with standard wheat flour. You would think i knew what i was doing, but i don’t really bake much at all. I could have used more honey but i made up for some of the lacking sweetness my poking a few chocolate chips in right before baking. Finally a 100% coconut flour recipe that worked out for me!!

  14. Pingback: Coconut Flour – Something Different to Bake With « restoringwellness

  15. Pingback: Coconut Flour – Something Different to Bake With « Criterion Living

  16. Just made this and I put a bit of shredded zuchini and a bit of nutmeg as well. SO great!!!! Finally a real carb lusters banana bread the healthier way!

  17. What I always do with my banana bread is to slice it, spread coconut oil over it and then re-bake it. It ends up crispy and alot less spongy. I also serve it with grilled bananas, candied pecans, cinnamon and a drip of maple syrup!

  18. made this tonight and it is delicious! i’m in banana bread heaven! :) :) :)

  19. I just made this and I’m in LOVE!!! I even made my own coconut flour. I can’t find unsweetened in our little town, so using the idea from a thread online, I rinsed (and rinsed) some sweetened flour, drained it then dried it on a large baking sheet at 275 for about 30 (+) minutes. It browned around the edges, but I forged on.
    The only changes I made to this recipe was using 4 eggs instead of 6 (fearing it would be eggy) and adding a lot more cinnamon. I like cinnamon. :)
    I couldn’t wait for it to cool, so cut a piece immediately. Yummmmmy!!! I’ve shared the recipe and site.
    TANK YOU for sharing!

  20. Pingback: Paleo Bolognese Sauce Recipe

  21. Just tried this recipe and LOVED it! I am just coming off of eating carbs and I could barely tell a difference! The only thing different I did was I didn’t use baking soda, and I only used baking powder and used a pie dish and I substituted 2 T plain yogurt for the honey and only used stevia. My kids LOVE it also!

  22. Pingback: The Best Thing A Girl Worth Saving Ever Ate « Popular Paleo

  23. Just made this and I love it! I used 2 bananas and next time I will use 3. I did put a little extra honey in it. I think I need to hide it so my Hubby doesn’t eat it all :)

Leave a Reply

