just a drop of simple sunshine

Gluten-free cheesy biscuits

19 Comments

Cheddar bay biscuits, anyone? Every time I pass our Red Lobster, I sigh mournfully. Although they might be one of the better restaurants for the gluten-free crowd (om nom scampi om nom nom), I know the cheddar bay biscuits will be too much to bear. I can pass on Outback’s pumpernickel, Brown Derby’s rolls, & every other restaurant’s bread du jour.

But the biscuits? I knew I’d eaten my last.

Or so I thought!

I don’t even know how or why inspiration struck, but I’m so glad that it did, & even more so that my original idea worked so well! Turns out the basic coconut muffin recipe is incredibly versatile – not only can it be used to make muffins & bread, but you can add biscuits to its resume, too.

Cheesy biscuits

gluten-free, grain-free

What you need:

  • 1/3 cup butter, plus more for pan
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup cheddar or colby jack cheese, shredded (more if desired!)
  • 2 tablespoons dried chives

 

How to do it:

  1. Melt butter. Stir in eggs.
  2. Add coconut flour, chives, salt, baking soda, & baking powder.
  3. Stir in cheese.
  4. Generously grease a cookie sheet, then drop large spoonfuls of batter onto the sheet. (It made 12 for me)
  5. Bake at 350° for 12-15 minutes, until a knife comes out clean.
  6. Completely optional step: throw a bit more shredded cheese on top, then pop back into the oven for a few minutes until melted.

 

This is… oh man, I was so excited when I bit into it. SO, SO GOOD! Perfect when hot, slathered with butter. Fabulous with a bit of pepperoni. I think next time I might try to make pepperoni rolls with them – the flavors are just so good together. These would be great as bun alternatives for upcoming Memorial Day cookouts – sliders, anyone?

If you try these out, definitely let me know what you think!

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

19 thoughts on “Gluten-free cheesy biscuits

  1. Pingback: Recipe - cheesy biscuits a la red lobster | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page

  2. Do you recommend a particular brand of coconut flour? New to this style of cooking and trying to learn what really works and what is just a not-so-good approximation.

    These look like the former!

    • First of all, welcome to the gluten-free club! Coconut flour is pretty easy to use, although it generally requires a lot of eggs. The only type I’ve ever used is Bob’s Red Mill, & it seems to work well.

      Good luck! If you have any other questions, I’ll try to answer them. :)

  3. Looks wonderful! I am always looking for recipes that don’t call for xanthum gum and other fake ingredients.

    • Oh, no problem! I find a LOT of gluten-free recipes that use all kinds of questionable things. I do, on occasion, use xantham gum, but only because I have SO MUCH of it. It’s certainly not something I’d throw into recipes on a daily basis.

  4. This recipe alone has gotten your blog added to my rss feed. Thankyou!

    Found you on the forums via Mark’s Daily Apple, BTW.

    • Aw, thank you! I will warn you, though, since several people didn’t realize this when they made it: this won’t be crumbly the way glutenized biscuits are. The TASTE is very cheddar bay biscuit, but the CONSISTENCY is… well, it’s been so long since I’ve had baked goods not made with coconut flour! I guess it just tastes like other coconut baked goods. :)

  5. I made them and posted here: http://purplegoddessinfrogpyjamas.blogspot.com/2011/06/food-for-road-cheesy-biscuits-ala-red.html

    They were great – and I agree about making them into some kind of rolls – that would be delicious! I used them for sandwiches and that was perfect, too.

  6. Pingback: Quick update… | peace love nature

  7. Just tried these tonight; the kids loved them. They came out flat and the kids used them as slices of bread to eat tuna fish on top of. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  8. Pingback: My road trip food list | Yolks, Kefir, and Gristle

  9. Pingback: Carrot Flour | Yolks, Kefir, and Gristle

  10. Thanks for this recipe, these are becoming a staple in our house. They keep well and are to die for when they are toasted and spread with Marmite!

  11. Pingback: Coconut Flour – Something Different to Bake With « restoringwellness

  12. these look fantastic!!! so excited to try making them. I was wondering about the calorie, carb, fat stats?

    • I put the recipe in LoseIt! and came up with 11.4g fat (6.7g sat), 129mg cholesterol, 350mg sodium, 4g carb (2.7g fiber, 1.3g sugar), 6.9g protein – 134 cal each (12 in recipe)

  13. Pingback: Recipe: Cheesy Pepperoni Two Bite Biscuits | i'm just mad about saffron

Leave a Reply

