just a drop of simple sunshine

Bringing the sandwich back.

4 Comments

“Too few people understand a really good sandwich.”
James Beard

I’m a lover of sandwiches – I’m absolutely unashamed to say so. During the five years it took to complete my undergrad (in my defense, music ed is a pretty intense major, but to make up for it, I completed my master’s in only three semesters, a feat I absolutely do NOT recommend to anyone), I also worked at the infamous Mirror Lake Cafe, a dining option for the on-campus population that served subs, smoothies, & pizza. It was popular, & pretty yummy, & I think I ate every combination of meat-cheese-bread that was available. It’s possible that my love affair with the sandwich was cemented during this time.

I’ll be honest – prior to my gluten-free existence, I never really did like all that supposedly healthy “multi-grain” bread. I much preferred sourdough or soft oatmeal bread – a consistency that I never thought I’d enjoy again. If I’m in the mood for a sandwich, I usually make my own multi-seed bread, or pick up a loaf of Udi’s White Sandwich Bread. It’s good, but not the fluffy stuff of my gluten-filled dreams.

Then my good friend Lauren took me to the most magical of places: Gluuteny Bakery, where I’m rather certain they must use kittens or baby bunnies or something equally sinister, simply because I never imagined I’d eat real bread ever again. This bread is absolute perfection: soft, fluffy, & full of everything I’ve missed. Quite a bit of money was spent there on everything from chocolate chip cookies to pumpkin loaf, but I have to say, I’m ready to go back & buy ten loaves of their flax bread. I don’t know what flours they use, but I don’t particularly care – it was that good. I re-created my favorite sandwich from Panera, the Turkey Bacon Bravo.

Turkey, Bacon, & Gouda Sandwich

  • Roasted turkey breast
  • Crisp bacon
  • Smoked gouda slices
  • Mayonnaise
  • Romaine
  • 2 slices soft bread

 

Smear mayo on both slices of bread, then place other ingredients in-between. Enjoy, then repeat. :)

It was absolutely heavenly. I’ll definitely be doing this again.

Next week I’ll be sharing my recipe for multi-seed bread with you, that, while not being quite so magical as this bread, is really quite yummy smothered in peanut butter & jelly. I can assure you that no kittens or bunnies were harmed in the making of that recipe.

Author: Sarah

I'm Sarah Amazing: 32. Teen librarian. Feminist. Fangirl. Nerdfighter. Ohioan. Happily entwined.

4 thoughts on “Bringing the sandwich back.

  1. I actually stopped in there on my walk home the other day and got one of their chocolate chip cookies, because I so enjoyed the ones I had when you guys were here!

    Also, I think that may be my favorite sandwich ever. Thanks for introducing me to it!

  2. Your sandwich looks absolutely heavenly! ‘m looking forward to your bread recipe.
    mom

  3. This looks amazing!! I’ll definitely be stopping by there on my next trip to visit Lauren!

Leave a Reply

